The Gold Coast SUNS have named their squad of 26 players to take on Carlton this Sunday afternoon, 4:10pm at Metricon Stadium.

Izak Rankine has been named to return to the team across the half forward line after overcoming a corked quad which has held him out for two weeks. 

Senior Coach Stuart Dew hinted at the exciting small forward’s return in his weekly press conference earlier today.

“He trained on Tuesday and looked really good, so he'll train again this afternoon and we look forward to ramping him up and ticking all the boxes he needs to,” Dew said.

Malcolm Rosas JnrJy Farrar and Josh Corbett have all been named on an extended bench for the SUNS.


Corbett was the Round 3 medical sub, whilst Rosas and Farrar have been clearly amongst the best in the first two rounds of the VFL Season.

Also named on the extended interchange bench are Rory Atkins, Alex Davies, Caleb Graham, Alex Sexton and Jeremy Sharp.

Key forward Levi Casboult will be looking to continue his strong start to the season in the red and gold as he takes on his former side for the first time.

SUNS members and fans are encouraged to get out in force and make sure the Blues see RED.

The two teams last met in Round 21, 2021 at Marvel Stadium with the SUNS coming out on the top that day, victors by 19 points. 

It will be a double-header at Metricon Stadium, with the VFL team taking on the Blues at 12:35 before the AFL match at 4:10pm.

The squad of 26 will be cut down to 22 when the final teams are announced at 5pm on Friday evening.


27. Wil Powell

25. Sam Collins

23. Sean Lemmens


4. Brandon Ellis

10. Charlie Ballard

14. Lachie Weller


8. Brayden Fiorini

11. Touk Miller

24. David Swallow


9. Ben Ainsworth

30. Levi Casboult

22. Izak Rankine


13. Jack Lukosius

1. Mabior Chol

7. Nick Holman


28. Jarrod Witts

18. Matt Rowell

15. Noah Anderson


2. Rory Atkins

19. Josh Corbett

5. Alex Davies


50. Jy Farrar

46. Caleb Graham

41. Malcolm Rosas Jnr


6. Alex Sexton

20. Jeremy Sharp