The Gold Coast SUNS’ extended squad has been announced for the Round 6 QClash at Metricon Stadium.

There have been four inclusions to the squad which will be trimmed to a final 22 on Friday afternoon.

Connor Budarick has been named on an extended interchange bench and is a chance to make his AFL return from an ACL injury sustained in Round 2 last season.

Budarick has made a solid fist of his return at VFL level this season, averaging 21 disposals from his three games in the backline.

Chris Burgess has also been brought into the squad on the back of a six-goal effort against Sandringham in the VFL last weekend.

Burgess has now booted 12 goals from his four VFL appearances this season.

Also prolific in last week’s VFL match against Sandringham was Jeremy Sharp, who has been named on the extended interchange after collecting 40 disposals and two goals from the wing.

Rory Atkins remains in the squad after being activated as the medical substitute last week for Mabior Chol.

Chol has overcome the groin soreness sustained late in the Round 5 match against the Saints, and has been named at full forward after training strongly during the week.

Jack Lukosius was pushing to return from a PCL injury to his knee but has not been named to return this week.

It will be a milestone game for Stuart Dew, who this week becomes the longest-serving Senior Coach for the Gold Coast SUNS at 89 Toyota AFL Premiership games.

SUNS members and fans are encouraged to help the team in their Quest for QClash Glory by heading out to Metricon Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The Anzac Day Eve clash will see both teams pay tribute to past and present service men and women with a pre-game observance ceremony from 4pm with the first centre bounce at 4:10pm.

The SUNS will be wearing specially designed ANZAC guernseys which will be up for auction following the match, with all proceed going towards’ the SUNS’ ANZAC Appeal.

First bounce is at 4:10pm, with the match being broadcast on the Seven Network (check your local guide), Fox Footy, Kayo and the AFL Live Official App.

Round 6 Squad:


27. Wil Powell

25. Sam Collins

23. Sean Lemmens


14. Lachie Weller

10. Charlie Ballard

50. Jy Farrar


8. Brayden Fiorini

11. Touk Miller

4. Brandon Ellis


9. Ben Ainsworth

30. Levi Casboult

22. Izak Rankine


41. Malcolm Rosas Jnr

1. Mabior Chol

7. Nick Holman


28. Jarrod Witts

18. Matt Rowell

15. Noah Anderson


2. Rory Atkins

35. Connor Budarick

29. Chris Burgess


19. Josh Corbett

5. Alex Davies

17. Oleg Markov


20. Jeremy Sharp

24. David Swallow