Playing at Heritage Bank Stadium proved a welcome homecoming for the Gold Coast SUNS Academy Under 18 Boys, defeating the Northern Territory 21.18 (144) to 7.3 (45) in Round 6 of the Coates Talent League.

The SUNS Academy team got off to a flying starting, finishing the first quarter with a 33-point lead. 

AFL Academy young guns Jed WalterEthan Read and Jake Rogers returned to the squad after missing the Round 4 clash for National Academy duties in South Australia during the Gather Round festivities. 

Walter led the goal scoring on the day with his imposing presence giving the NT defenders a headache, notching eight goals, 19 disposals and nine marks in his dominant return. 

Read controlled the bounces in his rucking duties recording 21 hitouts in addition to 18 disposals, eight marks and three inside 50s. 

The SUNS Academy were skilful in the ruck with ruckman Nicholas Williams securing 15 hit-outs, 10 disposals, five marks and three inside 50s. 

Academy skipper Rogers was impressive in his return from AFL Academy duties leading the midfield brigade with his proficient pressure contributing to many scoring opportunities, finding Walter unmarked in the forward 50 on multiple occasions. 

Rogers recorded 30 disposals, three marks, five inside 50s and a goal to his name. 

Nelson Belkoff-Smart had a season-best performance involved in a number of contests and creating pressure in the midfield and final third. 

Belkoff-Smart had 25 disposals, seven marks and five inside 50s, forming a key role in the SUNS brand of footy that Academy Coach Jarrod Cotton planned for the team to play. 

William GrahamJared Eckersley and Joshua Zanker-Close also impressed at Heritage Bank Stadium.

Gold Coast SUNS Academy: 6.3, 12.5, 14.9, 21.18 (144) 

Northern Territory Academy: 1.0, 4.1, 6.3, 7.3 (45) 


Gold Coast SUNS Academy: Jed Walter (8), Charles Elliot (2), Jack Stringer (2), Cooper Hynes, William Graham, Max Hudson, Campbell Lake, Lachlan Gulbin, Jake Rogers, Marlin Corbett, Beau Addinsall, Leonardo Lombard 

Northern Territory Academy: Waylon Davey (2), William Rowlands, Stanley Waistcoat, Leon Connop, William Munkara, Orlando Turner 



Gold Coast SUNS Academy: Jed Walter, Joshua Zanker-Close, William Graham, Jake Rogers, Jared Eckersley, Nelson Belkoff-Smart 

Northern Territory Academy: William Rowlands, Andrew Green, Stanley Waistcoat, Waylon Davey, Calvin Peris Chong