Gold Coast SUNS are eyeing its first VFL minor premiership when they tackle Carlton in the final game of the home and away season at Heritage Bank Stadium on Saturday morning.

After securing a top-two finish and two home finals last week, the SUNS need the four points and hope their percentage is strong enough to stay clear of the second-placed Werribee Tigers.

There are nine changes to the SUNS line-up this week following a 61-point domination against the Sydney Swans.

Sam Day is one of the nine players added to the side after notching his 150th AFL game last week. Elijah Hollands and Jeremy Sharp also return from AFL duties.

James Tsitas and Jy Farrar will inject some speed into the game, as will Darcy Macpherson with 18 AFL-listed players named to take on the Blues.

Leo Lombard, Finn Hay and Campbell Lake are the three other inclusions with the SUNS naming five Academy players in a strong balance of youth and experience.

Brodie McLaughlin will be looking to hold out forward compatriot Chris Burgess in the battle for the Frosty Miller Medal with Burgess (43 goals) needing three goals to catch McLaughlin (46).

The last time these teams met was in Round 3 last year where the Blues walked away 52-point victors.

The SUNS VFL will kick start a double-header against Carlton in the final home and away game of the VFL season at Heritage Bank Stadium before the SUNS and Blues battle each other at AFL level.

Early gates open at 10:15am with entry available through Gate 3.

SUNS VFL Team – Round 22 v Carlton

  1. A Davies
  2. S Day
  3. C Burgess
  4. J Sharp
  5. J Tsitas
  6. B Long
  7. C Blakely
  8. C Constable
  9. E Hollands
  10. O Faulkhead
  11. J Stein
  12. B McLaughlin
  13. D Macpherson
  14. S Brock
  15. C Graham
  16. H Oea
  17. N Moyle
  18. J Farrar
  19. B O’Brien (emergency)
  20. L Lombard
  21. J Eckersley
  22. N Williams (emergency)
  23. W Derrington (emergency)
  24. C Lake
  25. F Hay
  26. W Graham