The Gold Coast SUNS has named its Game 1 QW Winter Series team to take on the Brisbane Lions this weekend at Metricon Stadium. 

12 of the club’s AFLW-listed players will take to the field in the team of 21.

AFLW signings Sally Riley and Ellie Hampson will start on the half-back flanks and will be joined in defence by Tayla Thorn, Kate Surman and Lauren Ahrens.

The midfield consists of inaugural signing Charlotte Hammans and expansion signing Tori Groves-Little on the wings, with Jasmyn Hewett, Jamie Stanton, Jacqui Yorston and Molly Riston playing on-ball.

It will be an all-AFLW half-forward line with Jordann Hickey, Kitara Whap-Farrar and Sam Virgo. 

AFLW Summer Academy players Maddy Roberts and Taylor Smith will start in the forward pockets.

Paige Parker, Jade Pregelj, Lauren Bella will start on the interchange alongside Madison Goodwin, Serene Watson. 

Dee Heslop and Mary Ross have been named as emergencies. 

The match against the Lions will be played at 4:45pm on Saturday as a curtain raiser to the men’s game at 7:25pm.

Each team will play with 16 on the field and a bench of five.



K. Surman

T. Thorn


S. Riley 

L. Ahrens

E. Hampson


C. Hammans

M. Ritson

T. Groves-Little


J. Hickey

K. Whap-Farrar

S. Virgo


M. Roberts

T. Smith


J. Hewett

J. Stanton

J. Yorston


M. Goodwin

P. Parker

S. Watson


L. Bella

J. Pregelj


D. Heslop

M. Ross