Best mates Noah Anderson and Matt Rowell share 10th spot in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year award following 12 rounds of action.

The pair were among the best on ground in Saturday’s strong win over Essendon at People First Stadium, Rowell polling nine votes from the coaches and Anderson eight.

The duo were among five SUNS to receive votes from Damien Hardwick and Brad Scott. Sam Collins was immense in defence yet again, receiving six votes while Mac Andrew and captain Touk Miller polled three and one respectively.

The SUNS are just one of three clubs to have two players inside the coaches’ votes top 10, alongside Sydney and Carlton.

Coaches votes – Round 12 v Essendon

9 – Matt Rowell
8 – Noah Anderson
6 – Sam Collins
3 – Mac Andrew
2 – Nicholas Hind
1 – Touk Miller
1 – Zach Merrett