Six SUNS AFLW players have been nominated for 2020 AFLW Players’ Association Awards.

Players were asked to nominate teammates from their club for four separate awards; MVP, Most Courageous, Best First-Year Player and Best Captain.

Kalinda Howarth, Jade Pregelj and Jamie Stanton were the SUNS’ three nominees for the 2020 AFLW MVP Award.

Kate Surman was nominated for Best First-Year Player, while Pregelj was also nominated for Most Courageous.

Both co-captains Sam Virgo and Leah Kaslar received nominations for Best Captain.

Voting for the AFLW MVP, Most Courageous, Best First-Year Player and Best Captain awards is a two-stage process, with players nominating their teammates in stage one before selecting from a competition-wide field in stage two.

Players cannot vote for a player from their own club during stage two of the voting process.

The AFL Players’ Association will recognise the achievements of the award winners with a special roll out of digital content on our website and social media channels on Monday April 20.
SUNS AFLPA AFLW Award Nominees:

MVP (presented by Our Watch): Kalinda Howarth, Jade Pregelj, Jamie Stanton
Most Courageous (presented by MSC Signs): Jade Pregelj
Best First-Year Player (presented by KPMG): Kate Surman
Best Captain (presented by The Diamond Guys): Samantha Virgo, Leah Kaslar