Gold Coast has delisted five players as part of a list lodgement for the AFLW Sign & Trade period.

Tayla Thorn, Georgia Breward, Kitara Whap-Farrar, Lexi Hamilton and Maddy Roberts have been advised they would not be offered contracts for the 2021 AFLW season.

Maddy Roberts has decided to step away as she pursues a new career with NSW Fire & Rescue.

SUNS Head of Women’s Football Fiona McLarty thanked the players for their contributions to the club in its first season.

“These players will always hold a place in our club’s history being a member of our inaugural AFLW list,” McLarty said. 

“This group of players has done something very special and their contribution to helping establish our football club will never be underestimated and for that, we say thank you.

“It’s unfortunate that we have to bid them farewell but we wish them all the best in their future endeavours.”

The delisting process allows the club to open up list spots for new players to be acquired through free agency and the 2020 NAB AFLW Draft.

The SUNS currently hold selections 7, 23 and 56 in the 2020 NAB AFLW Draft.


Key dates for the 2020 AFLW Sign and Trade Period: 
Monday August 3
AFLW Sign & Trade Period commences (12pm)
Wednesday August 12 
Trade period closes (2pm)
AFLW List Lodgement # 1 (4pm)   
Monday August 17
Re-signing and Restricted Free Agent period closes (2pm)
AFLW List Lodgement # 2 (4pm)
Friday August 21
Delisted Free Agent period closes (2pm)
AFLW List Lodgement # 3 (4pm) 
AFLW Draft order confirmed