The Gold Coast SUNS will take a squad of 26 players into Monday night’s AAMI Community Series match against the Brisbane Lions at Metricon Stadium.

In the club’s only official practice match leading into the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season, Stuart Dew and his coaching group will be looking to finalise preparations for a Round 1 fixture against the West Coast Eagles in Perth.

Key Defender and 2020 Club Champion Sam Collins returns to the side after missing last week’s hit out against the Lions as he recovered from a foot complaint.

Collins will be keen to have a big impact on Brisbane’s key forwards, including recruit Joe Daniher who kicked four goals against an undersized SUNS defensive group last time out.

Brayden Fiorini and Nick Holman have been named in an extended squad for the SUNS but are expected to also play some minutes in the VFL practice match earlier in the day.

Every precaution has been taken with young gun Izak Rankine to miss the game, after suffering a minor ankle injury at training during the week.

With 14 days before the club’s first fixture for 2021, there is no need to push him through Monday night’s game, with Rankine expected to be available for selection in Round 1.

Sean Lemmens and Sam Flanders are the only other changes to the squad and will feature in the VFL Practice match.

The AAMI Community Series will be SUNS fans first opportunity to watch their team live at Metricon Stadium and Senior Coach Stuart Dew echoed their excitement.

“It's exciting and obviously, there's a few people that want to come and watch and that's why it's important we put on a good show and play an exciting brand of footy,” Dew said.

“I know Brisbane are trying to do the same as well, it will be great for our members to get along and see their side again.”

For those unable to attend the match it will be broadcast live on FOX FOOTY and Kayo from 6:00pm AEST.

Click here for Match Day Information for the AAMI Community Series Match at Metricon Stadium. 


AAMI Community Series – Gold Coast SUNS v Brisbane Lions
Metricon Stadium, Monday 8th March
Centre Bounce - 6:10pm


1. Hugh Greenwood
3. Jack Bowes
4. Brandon Ellis
5. Jarrod Harbrow
6. Alex Sexton
7. Will Brodie
8. Brayden Fiorini
9. Ben Ainsworth
10. Charlie Ballard
11. Touk Miller
12. Sam Day
13. Jack Lukosius
14. Lachie Weller
15. Noah Anderson
17. Oleg Markov
18. Matthew Rowell
24. David Swallow
25. Sam Collins
27. Wil Powell
28. Jarrod Witts
29. Chris Burgess
34. Ben King
35. Connor Budarick
39. Nick Holman
44. Darcy Macpherson
46. Caleb Graham

2. James Smith (Academy)
8. Brayden Fiorni
16. Jack Johnston (Academy)
19. Josh Corbett
10. Jack Hombsch
21. Bailey Reeves (Academy)
23. Sean Lemmens
26. Sam Flanders
30. Alex Davies
31. Jordan Murdoch
33. Aiden Fyfe
36. Shaye Walsh (Academy)
37. Jeremy Sharp
38. Rhys Nicholls
39. Nick Holman
40. Max Pescud (Academy)
40. Mackenzie Riddle (Academy)
41. Malcolm Rosas 
42. Thomas Hofert (Academy) 
43. Jez McLennan
45. Luke Towey
47. Hewago Paul Oea
48. Matthew Conroy