The Gold Coast SUNS have named a 26-player squad ahead of Saturday morning’s VFL clash against premiership contenders Southport.

The SUNS will have up to 17 AFL listed players for the fixture taking place on the Council Training Oval at Metricon Stadium from 10.30am on Saturday.

Izak Rankine will feature against the Sharks, Jacob Townsend is set to return from suspension while Sam Day is also in contention.

Rory Atkins, Will Brodie, Alex Davies and Caleb Graham have been named as AFL emergencies with one of those four to be the medical sub for the AFL fixture against the Demons at 3.10pm.

After last week’s nine-goal haul, Joel Jeffrey is unavailable after being selected to make his AFL debut on Saturday afternoon while Jy Farrar and Zac Smithhave also been promoted.

First bounce is at 10.30am on Saturday with the match streamed live on the Gold Coast SUNS YouTube channel.

VFL Round 16 squad:

2. Rory Atkins
5. Jarrod Harbrow
7. Will Brodie
12. Sam Day
21. Jacob Townsend
22. Izak Rankine
30. Alex Davies
31. Jordan Murdoch
33. Aiden Fyfe
36. Elijah Hollands
41. Malcolm Rosas Jnr
42. Patrick Murtagh
43. Jez McLennan
45. Luke Towey
46. Caleb Graham
47. Hewago Paul Oea
49. Ned Moyle
51. Max Pescud*
52. Bailey Reeves*
53. Austin Harris*
54. Finn Brown*
55. Shaye Walsh*
56. Jed Foggo*
57. Bodhi Uwland*
58. Jack Johnston*
60. Will Bella*

*SUNS Academy