The Gold Coast SUNS has named its initial 26-man squad for the Round 1 clash against West Coast at Optus Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Two SUNS will make their club debut in the red and gold, with Mabior Chol and Levi Casboult both listed on the ground at full forward and centre half-forward respectively.

Co-captain Jarrod Witts has been named for his return to AFL football, making his comeback from an ACL injury sustained early in the 2021 season.

It will also be Touk Miller’s first match since being appointed co-captain alongside Witts earlier in the pre-season.

Pre-season positional changes are expected to be on display across the ground in Round 1, with David Swallow and Lachie Weller both named in defence while Jack Lukosius has been named at half-forward.

WATCH: Witts - I'm ready to go and there's no excuses

After an impressive pre-season, Jeremy Sharp has won a place on the wing in Senior Coach Stuart Dew’s team, while Brandon Ellis will line up on the other wing opposite him.

Named on the extended interchange bench are Chris Burgess, Alex Davies, Brayden Fiorini, Sam Flanders, Caleb Graham, Darcy Macpherson, Ned Moyle and Alex Sexton.

The squad of 26 will be trimmed to the final 22 at 4pm AEST on Friday afternoon.

The match against West Coast gets underway at 6:40pm AEST on Sunday night and will be broadcast on the Seven Network (check your local guide), Fox Footy and Kayo.

Round 1 Squad:


24. David Swallow

25. Sam Collins

23. Sean Lemmens


14. Lachie Weller

10. Charlie Ballard

27. Wil Powell


20. Jeremy Sharp

11. Touk Miller

4. Brandon Ellis


7. Nick Holman

30. Levi Casboult

13. Jack Lukosius


22. Izak Rankine

1. Mabior Chol

9. Ben Ainsworth


28. Jarrod Witts

18. Matt Rowell

15. Noah Anderson


29. Chris Burgess

5. Alex Davies

8. Brayden Fiorini


26. Sam Flanders

46. Caleb Graham

44. Darcy Macpherson


49. Ned Moyle

6. Alex Sexton