The Gold Coast SUNS are set to take on the Northern Bullants at Metricon Stadium in their first official hit out of the 2022 VFL season.

21 SUNS Listed players have been named to take on the travelling Bullants inside that will be topped up with SUNS VFL Listed player Morgan Ferres and Academy talent.

SUNS fans will be excited to see the return of Connor Budarick and Matthew Conroy from knee injuries that kept them out for the majority of the 2021 football season. Budarick who was a mainstay of Stuart Dew’s AFL team in 2020, his first year at the club, will be looking to earn that spot back over the coming weeks in the VFL.

Number five draft pick from the 2021 NAB AFL Draft Mac Andrew will don the SUNS guernsey for the first time having been named at centre half-back.

Reigning SANFL Best and Fairest James Tsitas and academy product Sandy Brock will also step out for their first official matches.

Sam Day will make his comeback from a wrist injury suffered at training prior to Christmas and be looking to perform strongly to put his hand up for AFL selection

All four of the AFL Emergencies have been named in the VFL side but at least one of them will be pulled out of the team to suit up as the Medical Substitute on Saturday night.

It will also be a momentous occasion for new VFL Head Coach Jackson Kornberg who will make his debut for the club. He will be joined by Head of Development Rhyce Shaw, VFL & Academy coach Jarrod Cotton & VFL Assistant Coach James Frawley.

Centre Bounce is 2:05pm at Metricon, Gate 3 opens at 1:45pm for fans who want to come and attend the game.

Round 1 VFL Team    
B 50. J. Farrar 16. R. Thompson 17. O. Markov
HB 35. C. Budarick 31. M. Andrew 45. S. Brock
C 36. E.  Hollands 21. J.  Tsitas 47. H. Oea
HF 19. J. Corbett 12. S. Day 40. J. Jeffrey
F 2. R. Atkins 29. C. Burgess 41. M. Rosas
R 49. N. Moyle 43. J. McLennan 26. S. Flanders
INT 42. P. Murtagh 44. D. McPherson 37. M. Ferres
  48. M. Conroy 53. M. Dumas  
23rd Player 53. M. Dumas
EMG C. Munro 51. J. Semmler 62. J. Griffiths
  65. C. Matheson