The AFL has today announced the 2022 NAB AFL National Development Championships U16 Boys All-Australian Team, with two SUNS Academy players making the cut.

Caleb Nancarrow and Leonardo Lombard were both recognised for their outstanding National Championships, named at centre half forward and on the interchange respectively.

Nancarrow is a Cairns product who is a mobile tall forward/ruckman who possesses an excellent natural leap.

The 16-year-old averaged 13 disposals, four marks and eight hitouts per game to be one of the SUNS Academy’s best players in the National Championships.

Lombard is a prolific ball-winning midfielder who averaged 26.6 disposal and six tackles in the Championships.

The 15-year-old was one of the SUNS Academy’s most consistent players, winning the team’s Most Valuable Player.

This year’s Championships featured 10 teams competing across two divisions, with 15 matches played across Australia over the past two months.

South Australia edged out Victoria Metro and Western Australia to secure the Division 1 title.

Tasmania was undefeated across three matches to win the Division 2 title, ahead of Gold Coast SUNS, Brisbane Lions, GWS Giants, Sydney Swans and Northern Territory.

The 2022 NAB AFL National Development Championships U16 Boys All-Australian Team was selected with 18 players on the field and five players on the interchange, with players selected in their best position.

The All-Australian Team was selected by a panel comprising Kevin Sheehan (AFL Talent Ambassador – Chairman), Tarkyn Lockyer (AFL National Academy Coach/Manager), Mick Agresta (Carlton), Robert Forster-Knight (Essendon), Leon Harris (Brisbane Lions), Derek Hine (Collingwood) and Richard Taylor (Adelaide).

AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan congratulated everyone selected in the All-Australian team and said it was deserved recognition for their outstanding performance throughout the 2022 NAB AFL National Development Championships U16 Boys.

“Selection in the 2022 NAB AFL National Development Championships U16 Boys All-Australian Team is a significant honour and all players are thoroughly deserving of their selection in the team,” Sheehan said.

“The players selected represent the best young footballers in the country and highlight the quality of talent coming through the national pathway programs.”

Players by team
South Australia: (5) 
Lucas Camporeale, Tom Luck, William McCabe, Dyson Sharp, Tyler Welsh
Victoria Metro: (5) Levi Ashcroft, Tadhg McCarthy, Josh Smillie, Jagga Smith, Luke Trainor
Victoria Country: (4) Brady Hall, Sam Lalor, Xavier Lindsay, Finn O’Sullivan
Western Australia: (4) Thomas Cathcart, Malakai Champion, Anthony Hansen, Chayse Martinson
Gold Coast Suns Academy: (2) Leonardo Lombard, Caleb Nancarrow
Brisbane Lions Academy: (1) Billy Richardson
Sydney Swans Academy: (1) Mitchell Woods
Tasmania: (1) Oliver Depaoli-Kubank