Senior Coach Stuart Dew has locked in his team to face Geelong in David Swallow’s 200th AFL game at Heritage Bank Stadium on Sunday.

Wil Powell returns to the AFL squad for the first time since suffering a serious ankle injury in Round 14 last season, as does PNG product Hewago Oea who is in for his sixth AFL game.

The duo are two of three inclusions, alongside Jy Farrar whose return was confirmed on Thursday evening.

As also confirmed on Thursday, Brayden Fiorini and Bodhi Uwland have both been omitted, as has Charlie Constable who is listed among the emergencies.

One of the four emergencies; Constable, Mabior Chol, the Round 2 substitute Alex Sexton and potential club debutant Tom Berry will be named as the SUNS substitute an hour before the first bounce on Sunday.

With both Gold Coast and Geelong searching for the first win of 2023, the SUNS will be aiming to #DoItForDave in David Swallow’s historic 200th match.

First bounce is at 2.10pm with the SUNS VFL also taking on Geelong in a curtain raiser from 10.25am.

Entry for the VFL game is through Gate 3 from 10.15pm with main gates opening at 12.15pm.

Tickets are still available on Ticketek starting at just $11 for juniors and $30 for adults.

Click here to get your tickets.

Gold Coast SUNS Round 3 Team


14. L Weller

25. S Collins

44. D Macpherson


22. B Long

10. C Ballard

50. J Farrar


13. J Lukosius

11. T Miller

24. D Swallow


9. B Ainsworth

30. L Casboult

41. M Rosas Jnr


7. N Holman

34. B King

36. E Hollands


28. J Witts

18. M Rowell

15. N Anderson


3. S Flanders

40. J Jeffrey

47. H Oea


27. W Powell



16. T Berry

1. M Chol

33. C Constable


6. A Sexton