The Gold Coast SUNS will have three debutants for Round 1 of the AFL season against Port Adelaide this weekend.

Top-two draftees Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson have been named to play alongside SUNS Academy product Connor Budarick.

Budarick will start in the back pocket while Anderson will start on the wing and Rowell on the interchange. 

Recruits Brandon Ellis and Hugh Greenwood will make their club debuts, with both set to line up in the midfield.

Captain and reigning Club Champion Jarrod Witts returns to the side after missing the Marsh Community Series with an ankle injury.

The season opener against Port Adelaide gets underway at 6:40pm AEST at Metricon Stadium. 

The match will be live on Fox Footy, 7mate (check your local guide), Kayo and AFL Live Pass.


Gold Coast SUNS team v Port Adelaide: 


35. Connor Budarick

46. Caleb Graham

13. Jack Lukosius


3. Jack Bowes

25. Sam Collins

8. Brayden Fiorini


4. Brandon Ellis

21. Hugh Greenwood

15. Noah Anderson


44. Darcy Macpherson

12. Sam Day

9. Ben Ainsworth


24. David Swallow

34. Ben King

39. Nick Holman


28. Jarrod Witts

11. Touk Miller

14. Lachie Weller


7. Will Brodie

38. Jesse Joyce

23. Sean Lemmens


18. Matt Rowell




29. Chris Burgess

45. Jacob Dawson

36. Josh Schoenfeld


30. Peter Wright




00:35 Mins
Published on

RD1: Team Announcement

Check out the team to take on Port Adelaide in Round 1 at Metricon Stadium.

Published on