The SUNS will go into the Round 4 clash against Fremantle at Metricon Stadium with an unchanged side.

Senior Coach Stuart Dew has backed in his troops to get the job done again after the team recorded the club’s first-ever win over Adelaide last weekend.

There were a number of strong performances from the SUNS reserves against Adelaide in the scratch match, but Dew said that only made the team better and fuelled the competition for spots. 

“We’ve said all along it’s a good thing (to have a selection headache) and puts the pressure on the side but also the coaching panel to select,” Dew said.

“But everyone’s performing really well across both levels and we’ve spoken about the importance of that.

“There’s definitely guys pushing but this week the good thing is there’s no clear out.” 

One of the best performers from the scratch match was Josh Corbett, who kicked six goals and has been named as an emergency this week.

Dew said Sean Lemmens and Brayden Fiorini were also both still in the selection conversation going forward after being unlucky to lose their place in the team last week. 

“Pleasingly in the first two weeks since we’ve been back, there hasn’t been that clear standout to go out of the side,” Dew said.

“Both Brayden and Sean were extremely unlucky and they understand that.

“Obviously Sean had the opportunity to play (in the scratch match) and played really well so he’s clearly kept his name up there and Brayden’s name’s up there anyway because we know he’s proven at AFL level.”

 The match against the Dockers will get underway at 7:40pm on Saturday and will be live on Fox Sports, 7mate (check your local guide), Kayo and AFL Live Pass. 

Round 4 SUNS v Fremantle Team:



35. Connor Budarick

25. Sam Collins

13. Jack Lukosius


1. Pearce Hanley

10. Charlie Ballard

5. Jarrod Harbrow


14. Lachie Weller

21. Hugh Greenwood

15. Noah Anderson


27. Wil Powell

12. Sam Day

4. Brandon Ellis


6. Alex Sexton

34. Ben King

9. Ben Ainsworth


28. Jarrod Witts

24. David Swallow

18. Matt Rowell


3. Jack Bowes

11. Touk Miller

39. Nick Holman


44. Darcy Macpherson




8. Brayden Fiorini

19. Josh Corbett

23. Sean Lemmens


26. Sam Flanders