The AFL awards season kicks off this Wednesday night. Here is who is in contention from the Gold Coast SUNS.

As the 2022 Toyota AFL Premiership Season comes to a close, we take time to reflect on the season – with the SUNS running home to 10 wins, their highest ever percentage and a record-breaking membership tally surpassing 20,000.

Wednesday night’s 2022 AFL Awards are a highlight in the code’s calendar, culminating in the announcement of the AFL All-Australian team and AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year.

While the AFL Therabody All-Australian squad is set to be announced early this week, the final team will be revealed at Wednesday’s event.

Touk Miller is also firmly in the running for the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year award – sitting equal with Lachie Neale on 88 votes at the conclusion of Round 21.

The final two rounds of the AFLCA voting were not made public, however Miller’s strong performances indicate he could certainly poll votes in either or both games.

The AFL Players Association suite of awards will also be announced, with seven players nominated across four categories for the club.

The nomination process is two phased, with players initially nominating players from their own club, before going on to nominate for opposition players across the league.

Both Jarrod Witts and Miller are in the running for Best Captain, while it’s no surprise that the club’s Most Courageous nominee is David Swallow.

Mac Andrew impressed in his debut year and has been put forward in the Best First Year Player.

Meanwhile, three players from each club are nominated for league Most Valuable Player, with Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller and Sam Collins representing SUNS.

The 2022 NAB AFL Rising Star Award will also be named with both Joel Jeffrey and Elijah Hollands nominated throughout the year and in contention.

Gold Coast SUNS AFL Players Association Nominees:

Best Captain – Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller

Best First Year Player – Mac Andrew

Most Courageous – David Swallow

Most Valuable Player – Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller, Sam Collins

The 2022 AFL Awards will feature:

2022 NAB AFL Rising Star
2022 Therabody AFL-All Australian Team
Coleman Medallist presentation
AFL Players’ Association awards

  • Leigh Matthews Trophy for the Most Valuable Player, presented by Snaffle
  • Robert Rose Most Courageous Player, presented by Tackle Your Feelings
  • AFLPA Best First Year Player Award, presented by Local Expert
  • AFLPA Best Captain, presented by The Diamond Guys

AFL Coaches Association awards

  • 2022 AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year
  • 2022 AFL Coaches Association Best Young Player