Six SUNS have polled NEAFL MVP votes in the club’s comprehensive victory over the NT Thunder in Darwin on Saturday night.

Michael Rischitelli was voted best on ground with nine votes for his 30 disposals, 10 clearances, six inside 50s and a goal.

He was closely followed by ruckman Tom Nicholls (six votes) who dominated with 50 hitouts, 17 disposals and nine clearances of his own in the 70-point win.

Sean Lemmens kicked four goals on return from injury and was also influential around the ground with 28 disposals, resulting in five votes from the umpires and coaches.

Ben King (one vote) continued his strong form up forward with another four goals while Sam Day (three votes) didn’t kick a goal but was rewarded for his work off the ball.

19-year-old SUNS Academy member Fitzroy Greenwool also kicked a bag of four goals and had 17 disposals, receiving one vote and a NEAFL Rising Star nomination for his exciting performance.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.

NT Thunder v Gold Coast
9: Michael Rischitelli (Gold Coast)
6: Tom Nicholls (Gold Coast)
5: Sean Lemmens (Gold Coast)
3: Sam Day (Gold Coast)
3: Ben Rioli (NT Thunder)
2: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
1: Fitzroy Greenwool (Gold Coast)
1: Ben King (Gold Coast)


36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
24: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
23: Ben Keays (Brisbane)
21: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)
19: Alex Smout (Canberra)
18: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
16: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
16: Clay Cameron (Redland)
15: Corey Lyons (Brisbane)
15: Toby Wooller (Brisbane)