The race for the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Award is set to go down to the wire with the top five separated by just five votes.

SUNS Vice-captain Touk Miller is currently two votes from the lead after polling seven in the match against the Western Bulldogs on the weekend.

He sits on 83 votes behind Dogs captain Marcus Bontempelli and Demons ball magnet Clayton Oliver on 85.

With just five games to go, the award is still anyone’s to claim.

Miller’s form has been on another level in 2021, with the midfielder becoming just the eighth player in history to poll AFLCA votes in at least 11 games in a row.


85 Marcus Bontempelli WB
85 Clayton Oliver MELB
83 Touk Miller GCFC
83 Samuel Walsh CARL
80 Ollie Wines PORT
75 Jack Steele STK
70 Darcy Parish ESS
68 Zach Merrett ESS
60 David Mundy FRE
57 Christian Petracca MELB

Round 18 votes: Gold Coast v Western Bulldogs

9 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
7 Touk Miller (GCFC)
5 Alex Keath (WB)
3 Jack Macrae (WB)
3 Bailey Smith (WB)
2 Bailey Dale (WB)
1 Sam Collins (GCFC)