A plethora of injuries and club-imposed suspensions have forced the Gold Coast SUNS to make wholesale changes to the side that defeated Brisbane in last weekend’s QClash at Metricon Stadium.

Rodney Eade and the match committee have made seven changes for Saturday night’s clash against the Adelaide Crows, with former Richmond and Brisbane midfielder Andrew Raines headlining the inclusions.

Key defender Rory Thompson returns from a hip injury, whilst trio Aaron Hall, Zac Smith and Mitch Hallahan have all been recalled to the senior team to face the Crows. Midfielder Luke Russell and backman Clay Cameron will also make their first appearances of the season.

The casualty ward at Metricon Stadium deepened following last weekend’s victory over the Lions, with Jack Martin and Jarrod Garlett suffering ankle injuries, and Seb Tape hurting his knee.

The injuries were compounded by the club-enforced sanctions handed out to Harley Bennell, Trent McKenzie and Brandon Matera for breaching alcohol protocols last weekend.

With Steven May serving the first week of his three-match ban, Thompson's return is timely given the presence of Adelaide’s Taylor Walker this weekend, along with key talls Josh Jenkins and Tom Lynch.

Round 6 AFL Premiership Team

B: C. Cameron, H. Schade, K. Kolodjashnij
HB: A. Saad, R. Thompson, J. Lonergan
C: M. Shaw, D. Prestia, A. Sexton
HF: T. Miller, T. Lynch, J. Glenn
F: A. Hall, C. Dixon, S. Lemmens
R: T. Nicholls, M. Rischitelli, A. Raines
INT: J. Harbrow, M. Hallahan, Z. Smith, L. Russell
Emergencies: P. Wright, J. Leslie, A. Boston

IN: C. Cameron, R. Thompson, A. Raines, A. Hall, Z. Smith, L. Russell, M. Hallahan
OUT: H. Bennell (club suspension), B. Matera (club suspension), T. McKenzie (club suspension), J. Martin (ankle), J. Garlett (ankle), S. Tape (knee), S. May (suspension)